No One Worries About the Worrier…

Posted: February 27, 2010 in Uneven Moments
Tags: , , , ,

I was writing an e-mail to one of my best friends just now, discussing a problem I’m trying to work through (He mentioned he was worried about me, and I was startled by that comment), and a little piece of reality hit me:

I worry a lot. A LOT. About almost everything. Some of it is very irrational, like having a plane fall on my house; some of it is very unhealthy because I see danger and evil in almost every damn thing. But the running theme of my worrying is a simple one: I fear anything bad happening to the people I love. I worry for their safety, their health, their emotional state. I worry if people had lunch at work. I worry about my single friends getting raped by some hot girl who’s a psychopath. I have lists of specific worries for everyone in my life. And most annoyingly of all, I’m almost constantly asking these people to be careful, to be cautious, to think before they act, to make sure they have everything they need, to go pray or talk to a therapist, to not ignore their gut instincts, etc. And since I’ve become a champ, the intensity of those worries and their pervasiveness in my life have tripled.

And yet, no one worries about me. There’s no pity implied in that statement, it’s just a fact that I’ve only now become aware of.

Except my mom and siblings. But that’s because I picked this worrying mania up from her, and I am just one of a hundred people on her list of those for whom her worries are never-ending.

Comments
  1. Salman Ateeq says:

    A post worth reading 🙂

  2. Jameel Isphani says:

    Your next lifetime will be a sight (not sigh!) to behold my amazing friend xxx

    Love ya guts x

Leave a Reply

