A New Beginning…

Posted: March 9, 2010 in Uneven Moments
Tags: , , , ,

There is something strange happening in this house. There is a young guy living in my mirror, every time I look in the mirror I see him there. Now how did that happen? Every time I look in the mirror, there he is geesh. This guy in the mirror obviously looks clumsier every time I see him. Every time he leaves with the intention of not returning but his comical face with a clumsy nose is back!!!

It is strange in that I do face that mirror at least 10 or 12 times a day between shaving, brushing teeth, washing……. but i guess I never really look at the reflection. I suppose I am concentrating more on the task at hand. This morning I was brushing my teeth and I am not sure what prompted me to do it but I really looked at that guy staring back at me. I am sure glad I have been getting all those emails about how it is good to grow and look old. lol. Actually, none of this bothers me in the slightest.

This all brought to mind something my dear mother used to tell me, way way back when.

Everyday at some time you are going to have to face yourself in the mirror. When you do look beyond the physical person you see looking back at you. Look at yourself as a person who you are. Get past the physical appearance and ask yourself, am I happy, content even a little proud to be the person I see staring back at me in the mirror. As you stare at your reflection ask yourself, am I the person I want to be, living the life I want to live. If in fact the answer to any of those questions is no, then ask yourself, OK, what am I going to do about it? She was a great believer in every or any single moment in time was the perfect time for a new beginning or to start a change. Putting it off was just wasting time.

Dwelling in or fretting about the past will ruins your today and possibly spoil your tomorrow. A new beginning is exactly that, beginning a new, the past is gone let it go, concentrate on today. Now by her definition though the past was gone and should be left alone. EXCEPT for yesterday, that one day only.

As you look into that mirror think of yesterday. Am I satisfied with my behaviour etc. on that day? If not what am I going to do to make amends, or learn from it. What am I going to do to ensure, what ever it may have been doesn’t happen again.

Some how that message has struck with me over the years. I can look back to my champion and the days that were maybe a little bit wilder days. There were days when I dreaded the thought of facing myself in that mirror. Maybe there weren’t enough of these times, but I do remember a few times when the thought of facing that damn mirror in the morning actually did cause me to stop and think before leaping into action.

Comments
  1. Zainab says:

    awesome!!

  2. Jamal Panwahar says:

    A post worth reading. looking forward for more. awesomeness

  3. Sara siraj says:

    A post worth reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

