Taking it in stride…

Posted: March 15, 2010 in New Perception
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wow, the past few days here on the blog have been kind of wild, not sure if that is the right word to describe it, Now a day or two ago I did receive a comment that did catch me by surprise. Let’s just say it was not all that flattering to me and hey, I never expect everyone to agree with everything I have to say and that is fair enough. Normally I would just blow this comment off, giving it the attention I think it deserves, which is none.

Now again I quote my dear MUM. She used to joke that when as a child I was vaccinated it must have been with a butterfly needle as I always have to get my say into everything. So here I go again.

I have realized life lessons can come from the most unusual or unexpected places. What have I learned from this experience. I have a lot of loving friends that have contacted me either here on the blog or via email. I do thank all for their support and encouragement.

Possibly it comes from being a dude all of my life. Risk is something I like taking be it financially or anything. Over the course of the blog I am very proud that almost 6,00 comments have been left. All but a handful have been very kind, loving and supportive. I cannot begin say how proud I am of all of my blogging friends, of how lucky I consider myself to have you all in my life. It is what is contained within so many of the comments that are most important to me. Yes, many contain kind and loving support for me, which I do appreciate so very much. But it goes so very far beyond that. Many others have in a time of need written in often sharing their own pain and grief. My dear blogging friends are always there in that time of need, providing loving support for any and all that come. It has gotten to the point I like to think of the blog more as a community of loving supportive friends. A community I am so very proud to be but a part of.

Now with that many comments there are bound to be a few, that let”s just say are outside the norm. I remember one way back somewhere that even said something to the effect: “Why don’t you just die already and quit wasting space on the internet”. Can’t remember how or even if I responded. I have grown with time and back then I imagine I had something to say.

To the dear blogging friends that have rushed in to support me with this, I thank you so very much. Please know I am fine with any comments directed at me. I will read such comments. Look to see if I feel it has any merit, see if I can learn from it and then pay it no mind.

The final lesson I have learned, is I have some work to do on myself. Any comment directed to me or at me, I can easily shrug off. BUT, disparaging comments directed at my mum or any of my family and my hackles go up.

Now this is my blog and I make the rules. I have always invited all comment, hey even those I might not personally agree with. That still applies comments from all are always welcome. BUT, any comments that I in my own judgment read as being mean spirited will be deleted entirely. Do remember I can even hack accounts and mess with your profiles. Do read the disclaimer page before you visit my blog 🙂

Comments
  1. Hassan Aftab says:

    Harsh but Good ;-). Those comments are moderated before they are published on the site

  2. Moiz Damani says:

    Yes, why not restrict people, or password protect it so that no spammers can mess around

  3. […] The busiest day of the year was March 15th with 759 views. The most popular post that day was Taking it in stride…. […]

Leave a Reply

