Spirits Within me…

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Experience
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A positive attitude is everything. In virtually every situation there are 2 ways of looking at things. One more positive, one more negative. Well I am being put to the test on that one today.

Something has really been made clear in my mind over the past several months. It is clear because I realize I have been doing it.

I am a bit of a hypocrite in that daily I pray for God’s will to be done in my life. I pray for that because that is what I would like to be. Could there possibly be a better way to live your live than by God’s will. I don’t think so.

Even knowing this, when things don’t go exactly according to “my” will or the way I would like them to go, I can get a little pouty, throwing myself a poor me party. It can be a lot easier having one of those parties than it can be to leave it. It is so easy to get into the mindset, “my life would be so much better, if only…….”. For each of us individually there are dozens of things we can point at and say, “If only”. If only this hadn’t happened or that had happened. I only he/she hadn’t done this or had done that. If only I had more money. The list could be endless. Why does it seem it is so much easier to focus on the negative than the positive? I am not sure, could it be it makes it easier for us as humans to deal with our lives if we attach blame to someone or something for any problems we have in life.

I had seen now that by playing the blame game we are abdicating responsibility for our lives. It is sort of like, “my life sucks but it isn’t my fault”. Maybe everyone needs to just take a moment an think to themselves, “Who’s life is it?” It is mine and it is my responsibility to deal with it and to live it. Many may try to tell me how to live it, but when it comes down to it, it is my life and I must live it. Ultimately, it is up to me, I must make the choices for my own life.

Well I finally left my pity party and gave the door a good slam on the way out.

I suppose if I were to have a mantra for life it would be, there are always 2 ways you can look at everything. I know I have written about that many times in the past. Here are some of my issues and the spin I have chosen to put on them.

Poor me, my physical limitations mean I can’t even cut the grass anymore. OR, hey, OK I can’t cut the grass as quickly as I once could. What was once maybe a 30 minute job now takes all day. I do it in bits and pieces with lots of breaks thrown in. I get to spend a nice day outside. It isn’t like I really had anything else planned. So what’s the big deal.

Poor me, I have lost a lot of my physical strength. OR, when I was a little younger I used to lift a lot of weights and was proud of my physical strength. What did that get me, whenever someone needed help moving something really heavy, who did they call? Hey, now I get to just relax at home.

Poor me, my life expectancy isn’t as long as I would like it to be. Well that kind of sucks no matter how I look at it, BUT, the key word in that phrase is expectancy. No one knows how long I have any more than is know how long anyone has. What is important is, I am not dead yet that I do have this moment,. I am responsible for living my life and that is what I am going to do, live it rather than endure it.

A friend ditches you, you hold him/her responsible why? In the first place you should not have got attached to him/her when you know deattaching was not that easy. Every day we head towards a puddle of quicksand and when we’re drowning we play the blame game. People don’t realize you’ve to be the one responsible.

How many things have you heard being described with the words, “the more you put into it the more you will get out of it?” I am sure we have all heard this at least a few times. Often I have heard it relating to some sort of training course or learning opportunity. The more effort we put in the more we will learn and take away with us. Makes perfect sense to me.

How about in our daily lives? Couldn’t live in some ways be considered like a classroom? A classroom where we are continually given lessons to learn and problems to solve. In this class room are the “problems” really problems or are they additional ways to learn the lessons of life? I consider life to be one gigantic classroom where I am given ample opportunities to learn about life, about how to deal with issues, about how to become a better and stronger person.

For me one of the biggest lessons in life has been the lesson on love. We all have it within our hearts. We have the desire to share it and to equally feel it coming back. Love truly is what makes the world go round. This magical feeling of love can seemingly be elusive at times, but it is all around us. To feel it we just have to open our hearts. A closed or fearful heart will not our own love shine through to the world, it will also close us off from feeling it being returned. A closed heart can sit bitterly on the sidelines watching life pass us by. An open heart is full of love and joy enjoying life rather than just watching it pass us by.

How can we open our hearts is by chance they are closed, or open then even wider as the case may be? We can do this by giving to others. It may be asked how can giving to others open my heart or do me any good at all. It warms your heart; it opens your heart for love to flow in both directions, simple as that.

Now, I am not talking the sort of situation where your are compelled or forced to give, that just creates resentment. I am talking about the sort of giving that opens the heart, the kind of giving that was not expected of us. The situations where we see we can help another person just because we are good and loving people, no reward or thanks is expected and is even declined if offered.

Through this giving, the simple sharing of love and kindness will reap such tremendous rewards for each of us individually. The warm loving, fuzzy feeling you can get inside. The feeling that comes from knowing, I did that, I did something nice not because I had to but because I wanted to. It is an amazing feeling, try it out, you will like it.

The size of these acts of kindness doesn’t matter, to whom they are given doesn’t matter. All that matters is that we as individuals did them because we could and we wanted to. It doesn’t have to be anything big, a single smile can light up the world, a few words or encouragement can change a life.

I have been asked do I think a single person can change the world and to that I answer, YES. Think of it, every single little act of kindness makes one small part of the world a better place, maybe even just for a moment or two, but we did make it a better place. If we each did our part doing even a bit, soon all those bits could add up to a whole lot.

Comments
  1. Mughis Shah says:

    I can’t express enough how your words have uplifted me. I guess they make me feel less alone. I don’t think I have felt so many emotions at one time. I feel foolish when I am sad for me…what he (you and others) are going thru is so much more. Some days I am just mad, but try and keep that inside. A week or so ago I started a journal…I’m hand writing mine and it does help.

Leave a Reply

