Two Sides of the Coin…

Posted: May 2, 2010 in Broad-Spectrum
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So yeah, almost done with this semester, closing down business for a month so I can hug my bed every day for a longer period of time.

I have a lot of time these days to sit and think. Now that in itself can be a mixed blessing. When you have the luxury of this time, it can be so very easy to allow your thoughts to wander and stay on the negatives or things that we perceive as negatives in our lives at the time. OK, it is important at times to really think about this sort of stuff but not to dwell on it, if you know what I mean. If our minds are going to dwell on anything, let’s make it on the positive things in our lives. I don’t care who you are or what your circumstances may be, there are many positives in your life. Sometimes granted it seems we have to look for them, but they are there. I have a challenge for everyone. Tonight as you lay in bed, before you go to sleep search your mind to find a positive in your life. No matter how big or small it may be recognize it as a positive, take a moment to be grateful for it, appreciate you are indeed lucky to have it. Every night search your mind for one more thing. In time you can see you are in fact surrounded by them.  I know I have many many things to be grateful for, positives in my life.

I spend a lot of my thinking time, “solving the problems of the world”. Now this is important stuff for me to figure out, should I ever be elected “King of the World”  lol. It would be good to know how to deal with all of this. This is all kind of strange in that the more I read, the more I ponder and meditate, the more I realize I don’t know. Huh, maybe I am moving backwards in this whole process.

I am realizing that there is very little in life that is just straight forward, cut and dry. Very few things are as plain as black and white, there are all sorts of shades of gray mixed in with this all. I am finding there are fewer and fewer issues in life that I am solidly on one side or the other. I am finding myself in that gray zone seeing validity to both sides of most arguments. Now, I am not talking about things like murder or rape or anything like that, I am talking more about life issues. Every coin has 2 sides to it. On both sides you will always have the extremists that believe their way is the only way. But, really how much of life is that cut and dry. Aren’t there always the “yeah, but what if….. scenarios”. You know the exceptions to the rule. The exceptions where suddenly we find ourselves saying: “well maybe given this situation it might be alright this time, but just this once.” I think these are likely the times when the “situation” affects directly on us or one of our own. Are we less likely to see there could be exceptions when the “situation” involves other and has nothing to do with ourselves. Hmm think about it!!

Let me give an example of what I may ponder on. Hey, maybe I will throw these out there more often and get feed back. OK, this issue, I have my strong views and I do lean to one side of the issue but am still a little in the gray zone. I am looking for feedback and I will share my own thoughts in a few days. This is something I have been thinking about but it again brought to mind by a blog I saw when signing on to wordpress this morning.

I am going to try to present both sides of the coin as best I can. Huh, I have been sitting here trying to come up with wording. I am not a writer but a rambler. I realize I can’t really represent one side of the story. It is about abortion right or wrong? I don’t think I really need to present both sides of the coin, I think all know them already. As I have said I already have my own thoughts on this and will share them in a day or two. I ask you some of the questions on which I have thought.

1. Should a woman not have the right to determine what happens to her own body?

2. Life, is a God given gift, what give us as humans the right to decide whether or not a baby should live?

3. Is the situation that cut and dry or can there be exceptions to any rule?

4. Many say abortion is an option if the mother’s life is in jeopardy. Who determines what level of jeopardy that warrantees and abortion? How is the mother’s life given priority over the babies?

5. Many claim abortion is murder and even that the doctors that perform them should be charged with murder. OK, if it is murder then shouldn’t the mothers be charged with something also as it was them that instigated the whole situation?

Do any of the above thoughts reflect my feelings, not at all. Just thoughts that come to mind as I ponder. When I do this, I try my best to look at both sides of the coin to see which side I am on. What do you think? Don’t accuse life of being a bitch but it is we who instigate problems.

Comments
  1. Sameen Shah says:

    That’s one heck of a milestone, I remember you were gobsmacked when you hit 1000! That’s amazing and a suitably thoughtful and impressive post to mark the event. This post is bang on as ever. All the best to you and anyone who happens by, read Miqdad’s blog, he talks a lot of sense!

  2. Asim Jaleel says:

    Though I am still amazed by it. I thank you my friend

  3. Ali Nawaz says:

    I get to be one in the 3.5K today! Now how cool is that?!

  4. Ali says:

    I am honored to consider you a friend. It was indeed my lucky day when you happened across the blog.

  5. Akber Shah says:

    And I’m guilty of not hitting the tabs…I own it!
    BUT…..I make note nightly what I did that was unselfish/loving.

  6. Mustafa Hassan says:

    The “Spirit within Me” is a favourite of mine. Please check it out and let me know what you think.

  7. Tahir Sheikh says:

    This is a great idea! When I come across something that hits me in a certain way…makes me think…or rethink something I cut them out and tape them in my jouurnal. It’s nice to have reminders of life’s lessons.

Leave a Reply

