Yesterday, I felt pretty good for the part of the day that I was awake. I always seem to feel tired and yesterday was another day that I slept most of it away.

I spend so much time reflecting back on my life. I seem to see things so differently now. Via email, I received one of those inspirational type messages. It was the story of a very skilled carpenter that took great pride and care in ensuring every job was done well. After many years of quality work, it reached the point he decided to retire and informed his employer of this. On hearing this, his employer practically begged him to build on last house. Out of loyalty and respect for the employer he agreed. But as the construction began it was obvious his heart wasn’t in it. He began taking short cuts, using shoddy materials, putting forth less than his best effort, anything he could to just get through each day. Ultimately, the house was finished, on the outside it looked good and only the carpenter in his heart knew of the inferior work contained within. Upon completion the employer handed the carpenter the keys to the house, gifting it to him in recognition of the years of good work. Now only when it was too late did the carpenter regret the quality of the work he had put into building that house. Only then did he regret everything he had done. Things he had done just to make it a little easier to get through a particular day, were coming back to haunt him.
I see this as such a good comparison to life. Our inner selves our true selves are a continual work in progress, constantly, “under construction”. Our bodies are our personal houses. Housing the true us, our spirits contained within, during our time on this earth. Do we want to end up as the carpenter did? Reach our end, with our houses (bodies) looking good or at least OK. But, in our hearts knowing of all the flaws and defective workmanship contained within.

Is it possible to attain perfection, of course not. At least not in this physical world. We are human and as such will always have some internal imperfections. We can though at least try our best. Our every day, every act is one more step in the building of our internal selves. Our every act whether and act of love, kindness, cruelty, deceit or whatever put another brick in place in the construction of our inner selves. Every time we take the easy way over what we may know to be the right way, another brick.

If only we would stop and see the big picture, today is not just today. It is an important day in the building of the true me.
I am feeling very guilty at the moment. Last week, I was the recipient of another act of kindness.

It is strange, today I had actually had a topic in mind. It was on misguided loyalty, maybe tomorrow we will see.

If only we would stop and see the big picture, today is not just today. It is an important day in the building of the true me.

Comments
  1. Sara Parker says:

    Very good post today. I think we take the easy way because the hard way hurts us too much. I know I have things in my life and look back on and say, I could have done better. I wish I had.

    I cannot wait for your post on misguded loyalty. I am big on loyalty. So I know it will be interesting.

  2. Martha Singh says:

    Very true! If only we were always as “together” on the inside as we appear on the outside. But isn’t it wonderful that God forgives us for all the “Bricks” in our lives? Without that we would all be crushed under the heavy burdon. Wishing you a wonderful day!

  3. Jessica Krupali says:

    Got you on Twitter: What an interesting story. There are so many ways to look at it. I’m asking myself…….would it be better for him to have said no, if his heart wasn’t in to it? And how many times do I agree to do something and I’m not 100% there? Still thinking………….

  4. Salman Ateeq says:

    loved loved loved the carpenter story… “a life unexamined is a life not worth living”……

  5. Safina abrar says:

    still thinking…….
    This post has been running through my head the last few days. I have a duplex (rental property) that I’ve been working on this week to fix up for the new tenant. I was really burned by the last tenant……they left the place a complete mess. I keep asking myself…….”Is this good enough?” The answer has been, “no”. I still need to give them the best I can, even if it is not appreciated, and that takes work.

  6. Sameen Shah says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you

  7. anika says:

    A very intersting story and a great post..:)

  8. Daniyal Ahsan says:

    Hats off, i would like to share you link on my blog, this post and the others are just superb 🙂

  9. Jamal Panwahar says:

    A post worth reading. looking forward for more

  10. Sabika Khan says:

    If only we would stop and see the big picture, today is not just today. It is an important day in the building of the true me.

  11. Sheikh Imran says:

    Even though I am aware, I don’t do a very good job of using my time wisely. Your blog is the encouragement that I needed to do better this year.

Leave a Reply

