A Post to Conclude…

Posted: May 22, 2010 in Belief
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So final post for this file “Belief”,

I invite all to join together with me. A group of friends doing our part to make the lives of others better. With every act of kindness, we do in fact make the world a little bit better. We do this simply because we can, because we care about others, all others people all people, we care about the world.

I once heard what I consider to be a very good definition of insanity: “Doing the same thing, in the same way over and over again and still being upset or disappointed when the results come out unchanged.” This applies to our very lives, if we day after day continue to do the same thing, in the same way, how can we expect there to be any change. Change of any sort must begin from within, within each and everyone of us. As people change, so will the world.

I invite and encourage all to join my very non-exclusive group of friends. All are welcome, no restrictions of any kind. I have read in many places that people become more committed to something if they have signed a document of commitment. So in that regard I have set up this new page title “Spirit within me”. The word “me” should be read as applying to each individual and definitely not me, as in Miqdad. It represents the spirit contained with each of you. I hope people will sign up and take membership in the group as a serious commitment.

OK, what is the group about. It is just a group of friends joining together to try in any small way to bring about changes within themselves, writing and sharing blogs, within the lives of others and ultimately to the world.

Is there a cost to belong to this group? YES, but not a monetary cost. The cost is something much more precious than mere money. The cost is spending some of your precious time. How much time? Five minutes a week. I don’t care how busy anyone’s life is, there is no one that can honestly say they couldn’t squeeze in 5 minutes a week. How is that 5 minutes of precious time to be spent? Actively looking for and performing an extra act of kindness. It is to be preformed for another, to whom doesn’t matter, the size of the act doesn’t matter. What matters is that we all take the time, even just 5 minutes a week to look for a way to perform an act of kindness.

Second, requirement. If any thanks is offered we decline to accept it. Instead state only that the only thanks you require or request is that this person, repay you by passing on another act of kindness be passed on to yet another. Think of the ripples we are creating.

Benefits, unlimited, gained from the peace and love to be contained within our hearts. That warm fuzzy feeling that comes from knowing I did something good, not because I had to but simply because I wanted to.

A Unique group, built for a cause 🙂

Comments
  1. Salman Ateeq says:

    Sign me up!

  2. Altamash Jiva says:

    *looking for the pen*

    *scribbling on the dotted line*
    😀

  3. Laura Quin says:

    Totally in and signed up with this utterly great idea! What a great way to put this idea across, happy to be a member.

  4. Sara Parker says:

    Checking in, sir!
    But I’m crediting you with the idea. After reading your post of the George Carlin email I decided it was way past time to meet and greet the neighbour who’d moved in last fall.

    So, I did!
    WITH a pie–cuz I can make pies without burning down the house. LOL

  5. Ali Nawaz says:

    Signed…Signed…Signed…

  6. Safina abrar says:

    Thank you Miq for your kind words and warm sentiment. I will definitely continue to be in touch and follow your journal while remembering you and your family as you continue this amazing journey.

  7. Martha Singh says:

    Pay it Forward! I live by this principle as much as possible, and yet, I find that there are many souls out there who will ungraciously abuse those of us who do. It amazes me the number of selfish people out there.

    Now I must state that I feel you’ve already given your five minutes by hosting this group. What a wonderful way to connect with others and secure a sense of accountability. Well done! I am even more pleased that I stumbled across your blog!

  8. Salman Ateeq says:

    More participants! YEAH!!

    And this week’s five minutes–a ‘stop and converse’ thing at the grocery store.

  9. Sabika Khan says:

    ime’s a gift to be used on earth

    In preparation for eternity

    And what we do within it’s span

    Determines our soul’s destiny

    Sign me up

  10. Sameen Shah says:

    Miqdad, I’ve been a little MIA blogreading-wise of late, hoping to be back completely asap and to catch up on posts that I have missed. Am very glad that I passed by today and saw this one.
    Sign me up please.

  11. Anum Mahesri says:

    I am here, please sign me up.
    This was a very good suggestion
    to do this. Love to be a member in
    this.

    In Inspiration,:-)

  12. Jamal Panwahar says:

    Please count me in, Miqdad. And spirits up.

  13. Asim Jaleel says:

    Awesome idea, Bill!!!!

    Please consider me a WARM FUZZY member!

  14. Rajeev Kumar says:

    This is a wonderful task Miqdad! You are doing a very good thing…or should I say “we”

    Namaste

  15. Irwin Karan says:

    This is fabulous. Random acts of kindness! One thing I always try to do is to take my grocery cart to the cart return thing at the grocery store. Sounds corney or simple but here in Phoenix when it is 110 the clerks who have to walk through the parking lots to round them up really appreciate that simple little thing. it’s amazing the thank yous I get for that little thing. Ilove this idea. Good one. Consider me one of the group!

  16. Sara siraj says:

    I’m in what a great idea Miq. You are a wonderful man and I hope to have some of your greatness rub off on me

  17. Akber Shah says:

    Wow miqi what a great idea, I know I try to do acts of kindness, such as a hold the door for people or let someone on the road out in front of me, but it is amazing to me how many people probably do not do things like that because of selfishness or because they are in a rush. This is a wonderful idea! SIGN ME UP!

  18. Moiz Damani says:

    Pay it forward. I have tried for many years to live my life with this principle and hope that I have succeeded.

    Great idea, and only 5 mins!!

    Sign me up please.

  19. Mohsin Kamran says:

    What a wonderful idea.
    Sign me up please…

  20. Marita Sumsum says:

    Dear Miqdad,
    I’m with you, you’re with me. I do a Buddhist meditation every day (tonglen) that sends good energy to everyone, for healing, comfort, upliftedness, regardless of belief or any other criteria.

  21. Tere says:

    Here i’ll share my blog and experiences
    tere-tere.blogspot.com/

  22. Muzaffar Sanam says:

    Sign Me up….
    Sign Me up….
    Sign Me up….
    Sign Me up….

  23. Salwa Sharif says:

    I want to thank you for helping me want to go on living. Your words, on this site, has done more for me than anyone. From your words I have been given hope, encouragement, and love. I had forgotten that there were loving people in the world, but more than anything I had forgotten I was one of them. Thank you for giving me back my life. You will always be one of my hero’s and always in my prayers.

  24. Salma Hayat says:

    I would like to say that you are an amazing writer and God has truly blessed you with a gift of being able to touch the souls of your readers. This is done by your bravery in telling the truth about life and its great encore, death.

  25. Kamini Khoso says:

    It’s been too long since I stopped by to say hello and see how you are doing. My apologies. I love this column that you have created. You’ve always been a great proponent of random acts of kindness — I learn much from you.

  26. Kareem Chandani says:

    I have just read a few of your blog entries and the comments that some of your faithful followers have written and I am so happy I happened to stumble into your blog. Personally I was (am) afraid of death hurting when I go, not necessarily dying. See, my mother passed away Sept. 4, 2004 and we buried her on Sept. 11, 2004.

    The thought of death did not bother me until after my mom passed because we were so close. I thought that my mother and I would grow old and die together even though she was 31 years older than me. Silly I know but I did. She was my everything. I am embarrasted about that because God should have been my everything but was not. My mom was my everything

  27. Kamran Jaleel says:

    reading this is comforting to me. i have faced a lot this past year with death.. death in a matter of weeks, and other life changing experiences leading to not have those 5 minutes. You are exactly correct and an inspiration to all!!! Stay Positive!!!! I believe our lives are determined by our outlook. I haven’t read any posts yet except 9/17/08… i just want to say enjoy nature.. go on a picnic… as i have started to mellow this year after everything… i am finding many things can be explained in nature (a park..woods) when there is no one around. Enjoy the Fall it is truly beautiful!!!

  28. Murwana Abbas says:

    Enter your comments here…

  29. Dry Tears says:

    I’ll join too. Thanks for the reminder. Thanks for your blog as well.

  30. Mark Dan says:

    I stumbled on this in a different way. And I am proud to say a great big thanks, to YOU!!!. I have always felt that one act of kindness passed on will be repaid more than 3 fold. And I too have always felt that if one person DID pick up ONE piece of litter, etc; recycled one bottle, or “save a plastic tree” (my favorite saying at the local market as I refuse the plastic bag), will have great impact on this nation. Keep up the work and I will try to come back when I find some time. A big heartfelt THANKS again to all the LITTLE people that just Keep DOING what comes NATUREally to them!

  31. Kashif Iqbal says:

    Hi there,
    I want to send a message to say “Thank You” for the time spent posting your journal on the net.

  32. Mel Carter says:

    Count me in. ;+)

  33. Vijay Kumar says:

    The real self of us… our soul atman within… our consciousness is the real essence of life. Self Realization is the culmination of all things spiritual. One who realises self… reaches the end goal of cosmic life… the 8.4 millionth manifestation!

  34. Quin Quinn says:

    This article gives the light in which we can observe the idealism. This is very nice and give in depth information. Thanks for this nice article and good posting. I will suggest my friends to read this for certain

  35. Sameer Khan says:

    OH YOU CAN FIND IT ON MY BLOG!

  36. Salman Ateeq says:

    I would like you to listen to the song Finally Home
    by a group called Mercy Me.
    You can find it on you tube. It’s very nice.
    Keep the faith…

  37. Amna says:

    I,m in.God bless you.

  38. Sabika Khan says:

    I can appreciate joining this group.
    At times I have almost caved in, then a small miracle happens!

  39. Safina abrar says:

    The Spirit within us is the most profound discovery anyone can make. I was driving to work this morning after my metitation and was looking around at people and what was going on. It dawned on me how everyone I saw was working, moving and just going through another day. My GOD, I thought, I have been doing this my whole life, no wonder I have had such a screwed up life. I never even realized that I never stopped to look at life with all its glory, beauty and abundence, I was just surviving day to day

  40. Saima Saleem says:

    Your blog is the encouragement that I needed to do better this year.

  41. Sheikh Imran says:

    Even though I am aware, I don’t do a very good job of using my time wisely. Your blog is the encouragement that I needed to do better this year.

  42. Shifa anees says:

    Count me in!

  43. Shifa anees says:

    I hope this takes my html display of affection for you blog. If not, it will look like gobbledegook so you could follow this link instead…..http://www.colourlovers.com/palette/657762/A_Living_Man

  44. Abeeda Jilani says:

    Well then–welcome home!
    The place hasn’t been the same without ya. :-/
    and sign me up 🙂

  45. Stella Rangin says:

    I’m in 🙂

  46. Sara siraj says:

    Impressive, it all over the internet now. popular man

  47. Jamal Panwahar says:

    I look back at some of your comments left by people and realize that you have such a great impact on people you haven’t even met. Your words is really changing lives and helping people get on the right path. I believe God has given you some extra time to share your beliefs and values with others. You once said “I never really did anything meaning full in my life other than raise assist your self”. If you have ever had any doubt before now you should not. You have touched literaly thousands of people all across world with your words. Keep it up there are not many people out there with a positive attitude like you.

    Take care my friend
    Jamal

Leave a Reply

