People’s Reactions…

Posted: June 2, 2010 in Subtle Touch
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey this is a mile stone day, I am actually editing this post. Well sort of, I am just adding this paragraph to clarify the dates. This is one of my marathon posts, started Thursday, added to on Friday and Saturday, and I hope finished today Wednesday. The “yuck” day was actually this past Friday. I hope this clarifies the disjointed time references.

As I read of this terrible tragedy, a realization has come to me. I would have been willing to swear I wasn’t, but I realize I am a judgmental person. For me this is not a comfortable realization to come to, but it is true. Understand I am not pointing fingers at anyone especially not the poor people involved in the tragedy in lahore. I know exactly the same events would occur anywhere there is such a tragedy.

I read there is looting going on and I immediately jump on my moral high horse and proclaim that to be awful. Then I read further and see a lot of the looting is for the basics of life, food and water. Huh, well that puts a different light on things. But I am still on my high horse and still think it is awful, and then I start to think. If I had a wife and children at home, and they were going hungry and thirsty. If I could see no other options at the time to provide for my family, I would likely be one of the first into the store. Would I feel bad, yes, would I feel guilty, yes. Would that stop me likely not. I had to get off my high horse feeling bad about being judgmental of others, upon realizing given the right set of circumstances I would do the same. Don’t you just hate it and feel so embarrassed when you realize you are wrong?

I have written this many times. These are totally my own statistics based on my life experiences. Generally, I hate categorizing people, making broad sweeping statements about any groups in general. But for this thought, I do anyway. I am talking about people in general, irregardless of race, culture, sex or anything. I am talking about every single person on this planet.

OK, how do I categorize such a vast and diverse group of beings? That is the easy part. I believe about 90% of the population is comprised of good, decent, honest people trying their best. Trying to get through each day, raising a family, doing the best they can. About 5% of the population is making up of those exceptional people that always go the extra mile to help out, kind, generous and caring. This group I often consider to be almost Earth Angels. That leaves the remaining 5% that are generally, uncaring, inconsiderate jerks.

So my personal categories are easy. The tough or even impossible part comes when trying to decide who belongs in each. The problem comes as within each category are many varying degrees and the lines between each are often blurred and we can all move regularly between each. We all move between the categories depending on the day, depending on so many circumstances. I know this, I accept this. I know given the right circumstances I can seem a jerk and I am I suppose. Isn’t it so much easier to recognize others when acting like jerks. When I am acting in the same manner, I can always justify it with, someone or something caused me to act that way. Nothing, and no one can cause me to act in any particular way, I chose to act that way.

In viewing others can any of us ever be totally non judgemental? I am not sure anymore. Ultimately judgment is reserved for a power far greater than I. For that I am grateful.

Comments
  1. Dawar Khan says:

    I wonder if your estimate of Earth Angels is a tad low? Maybe I’m a true optimist, but I reckon there are more than 5% – I hope so!

  2. Safina abrar says:

    Letting go of judging ourselves and each other is such a bigee and so important to our spiritual growth. We evolve at a great rate of knots when we are able to let this go. I don’t think that Spirit judges at all though, and that’s the joy of being One with everything around us; when we do realise that there’s no point judging because we are all the same, from the same Source, and that the Source doesn’t judge, ever, then all that’s left is joy

  3. Altamash Jiva says:

    At least you’re thinking about it.

    I have come to the conclusion after having made so many comments here and not gotten responses or reciprocation that I must have come into some catagory of the not being worthy? of your attention and it saddens me but I guess that’s what I get when I have expecations.

    I still care about you but I’ll take my ball and go home but I still love you and care for you very much.

    Much love and many hugs –

    Peace, love and understandng to all.

  4. Martha Singh says:

    Well Miq, you’ve touched a raw nerve somewhere. Best of luck at the ‘bottom end’ and we’ll see you on the otherside of the weekend.

  5. Mark Dan says:

    I’ve always considered myself a non-judgemental person too until I practiced an exercise in non-judgment. Wow, it was eye opening to consciously try to spend a day without judging anyone or anything. It will be something I will continue to strive for though.

  6. Sabika Khan says:

    I absolutely agree there is no point to being judgemental. I really love your thoughts on this.

  7. Marita Sumsum says:

    I am some what taken back and not sure how to respond to your post, this is the second time you have sent such a message. It has always been my hope that the site would be considered safe and welcoming. I am obviously falling short on that goal.

  8. Quin Quinn says:

    It was something I read a few years back in Deepak Chopra’s book The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success that recently came to my mind again and I’ve been trying to practice it.

    “Practice nonjudgment. Begin each day with the statement “Today, I shall judge nothing that occurs,” and throughout the day remind yourself of that statement each time you catch yourself judging.”

    It’s a pracitce in being still. A practice in meditation and silence that allows you to become one with the Spirit. To still the mind is a very hard thing for me to do but when you can release judgement you fail to see the diversity and begin instead to see unity. Realizing that we are all of God, all of the same spirit, all of the same life force. You begin to see the potential of infinite possiblities.

  9. Ammar Haque says:

    As always,, I’ve tried my hardest to be a caring friend and soul and to attempt to convery that to others who have touched me heart – and you are one of them in a big way.

    Much love and many hugs,

  10. Jo Hart says:

    Love your post today. You truley are remarkable. I agree with you though. When it comes to our family, we would go to the ends of the earth to protect them.

    Much love to you.
    Jo.

  11. Stella Rangin says:

    I know there’s a stand up comic routine just begging to get out here, but I ain’t touching it. Man could I ever run with this one, but I ain’t touching it. Damn, suppression is a hard thing to do sometimes.

  12. Mohsin Kamran says:

    As for being non-judgmental, I don’t know if we can be. I try really hard not to be and the way I do that is to try to imagine being in that person’s (or people’s) situation. Of course, that’s not always possible. There are some things you simply can’t imagine until you confront them yourself.

    It’s good to read you again! My life has been out of control lately, but I’ve been thinking of you, anyway. Take care and don’t worry!

  13. As for realizing you are judgemental and “wrong” about something, …those moments are the ones that present us with the ripest opportunity for growth. They are priceless. I am thankful each time I actually let my prideful guard down enough to admit I’m wrong.

  14. anika says:

    A wonderful post, i agree with what you say. We should try our best not to be judgemental.

  15. Mel Carter says:

    As for realizing you are judgemental and “wrong” about something, …those moments are the ones that present us with the ripest opportunity for growth. They are priceless. I am thankful each time I actually let my prideful guard down enough to admit I’m wrong.

  16. Dry Tears says:

    Man, I am way behind on stuff….I liked this post because I’m always “judging” stuff, then feeling real silly when I find out all the rest of the circumstances later, which leads me to a different, “nonjudging” conclusion. Does that make sense? Don’t answer that!!!

  17. Mark Dan says:

    If I find myself beginning to judge anyone, I immediately tell myself to stop doing it.

    We are all human, and we often see and judge, before we think about what we are doing. All one can do is to try to stop the behavior once we are aware of it.

  18. Marita Sumsum says:

    Excellent post. I really appreciate your awareness and insight. I love the way you looked at all the different layers when you read of the looting going on, from your initial reaction to your understanding that if it came to keeping your family alive, you could find yourself in the same position. Thank you.

  19. Chandra Sen says:

    Read me at koel.blogspot.com

  20. Sara siraj says:

    Quite impressive

Leave a Reply

