A day or two ago I wrote of me being “on guard duty”. At 3:30 am I had seen what I saw as being a suspicious car coming down our street. It was driving very slowly with no head lights on. This car then pulled over and parked directly behind the car belonging to company we had staying at the time. Where I was sitting in the shadows I don’t think I could be seen from the street. I watched this suspicious car for what must have been 5 minutes and all was quiet, no on got out. That made me even more suspicious and I felt inside this had to be bad guys “casing” the neighborhood or checking out the car. I decided to reveal myself thinking if they were bad guys they would take off immediately on realize someone was watching them. That is exactly what happened. Which just in my mind confirmed my suspicions. Now I still do think that very likely this was the case and it was indeed someone in the car that was planning no good.

I do think that a lot of the problems in the world today come from people jumping to conclusions and acting based on what they see and therefore know to be true, without necessarily knowing the entire story. There are always 2 sides to every story. Based on everything I saw with my very own eyes I “knew” this was someone up to no good and still do think that was likely the case. BUT, I don’t know both sides of the story, only what I saw.

I was thinking about it and realize that somewhere out there in my social circle is possibly a lady telling a story something like this. I was on my way home and it was really late. I was dialing my cell phone so I was driving slowly. When you answered my call, I pulled over to the side of the street so we could talk and I wouldn’t be distracted from my driving. After we had talked for a few minutes suddenly this big guy came out of the shadows not too far from the car. Scared me half to death, did I ever get out of there in a hurry.

Now if this is the case my most sincere apologies to whoever I may have scared. Now what really do I know to be true. Our area has a recent history of break ins, auto thefts and vandalism. Local neighborhood watch and the police advice we should be on guard for anything that looks suspicious. I know I saw a car driving very slowly down the street with no headlights on. I know that same car pulled over to the side of the street and just sat there for approx. 5 minutes with no one getting out. So I know area history and what I saw all of my suspicions were based solely on that. That was enough to put me into “Rambo” mode as my dear blogging friend Mel calls it. I stood guard protecting the homestead. I have to wonder how many others, even how many other countries go into “rambo mode” based on what they see and therefore “know” to be true. Fact of the matter is I couldn’t see into that car. I have no idea of who was in there or what they were doing. Based on what I know and what I saw I jumped to conclusions. Was I right, was I wrong, I don’t know. Right or wrong I know I would react in the same way again given those same circumstances. I suppose it is always better to be safe than sorry.

Now I am not unique or special in any sort of way, so I can only assume if I react based on what I see and therefore know to be true that others must also do the same. I can’t help but wonder how much damage is done in relationships, within countries or around the world by people acting on what they “know” to be true based on history and from what they see happening.

I am thinking of a couple of examples from my own life, my own history. Now if I see someone one staggering down the street, my mind seems to automatically jump to the conclusion that this is some drunk and to just avoid him/her.

One other example just came to mind. I am an early riser usually up around 6:00am. In the summer I love to sit out on the front step and listen to all the birds. Such a beautiful sound hundreds of birds singing all at the same time. One morning I noticed a young lady approaching from further down the street. Now this particular young lady was wearing some western outfit, I admit that does catch my eye. Young lady was walking on my side of the street. I was surprised when while she was still 3 or 4 houses away she left the sidewalk and continued walking but now in the middle of the street. Very little traffic on the street so not an issue. She carried on past the house and I noticed once 3 or 4 houses past she moved back on to the sidewalk. It dawned on me she was nervous about walking by the house. Hey, there must be someone lurking in the area that made her nervous. i jumped up and am checking the back yards etc.. I don’t see anyone anywhere. Then it hit me, it was me that made her nervous. Initially, I was shocked and thought it to be ridiculous, I mean I would never hurt her, if anything I would be one she could run to in need of help. But, then as I thought of it. It was very early in the morning, no other people around. She didn’t know me or anything about me. Then it made sense as to why she would want to keep her distance.

Personal safety must always come first, it is better to be safe than sorry. Somehow I can’t help but feel sad that the world has come to the point where jumping to negative conclusions seems to be a way of life.

Comments
  1. Mel Carter says:

    Misdirected negative feelings abound when you’re trying to protect all that you know and all that you’ve experienced. You really do believe ‘that’s all there is, folks….’…..

  2. Jessica Krupali says:

    one of my favorite yogis said this:
    “i have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. i know what it is to be in need, and i know what it is to have plenty. i have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

  3. Jo Hart says:

    Nothing wrong with that. A mature person/society can acknowledge wisdom coming from anywhere, regardless of whether one believes in the same spiritual path as they do

    I don’t think I’ve met any non-Christian I’ve had respect for that could not acknowledge the wisdom of Jesus Christ, in particular his Sermon on the Mount.

  4. Abeeda Jilani says:

    bravo 🙂

  5. Salman Ateeq says:

    read your post and have to say, this is a very beautiful photo! love

  6. Safina abrar says:

    if truth stared at you, would you recognize it?

  7. Martha Singh says:

    i like your post!=)

    indeed, in life, we have enough for what we need but more often than not, people tend to focus on their wants rather than needs. =(

  8. Rajeev Kumar says:

    How would you know until you were there? Seems to me you have to reach that point to recognize it. I don’t believe in this case you can make suppositions. Only realizations.

  9. Catherine says:

    Well, you know what the Buddhists say. You won’t attain lasting happiness until you’re empty. Here in the West, if we tell someone, “Oh, I’m empty inside,” they’ll say, “How sad.” If you tell a Buddhist the same thing, they’ll say, “Congratulations!” My point is, happiness arrives at the polar opposite of “had enough.”

    Nice facelift. Very nice.

  10. Sara siraj says:

    A Wow piece of writing 🙂

  11. Murwana Abbas says:

    Congratulations! You are one step closer to lasting happiness and peace.
    Keep your questioning self, your curiosity alive. The answers will come. 🙂

  12. Altamash Jiva says:

    Well said. Sometimes our ego takes over urging us to want more. I, too, have enough. A home, wonderful family, a roof over our head, and food on the table. We are happy. We have more than most and I’m grateful for it every day.

  13. Saima Saleem says:

    I agree with you! I’m grateful for the things I have especially in today’s society.

  14. Mohsin Kamran says:

    The Best Word 🙂

  15. Jamal Panwahar says:

    Reminds me of a post from back in December…
    http://wp.me/pPdPc-h

    Thank you!

  16. Javed Hashmi says:

    That is a good question…the answer is…I don’t know.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  17. Namrita says:

    Excellent post. Upon self-reflection I believe that I like others have been brainwashed to want more…more…more… Time readjust those priorities.

  18. Laura Quin says:

    I think that we might never be able to answer this question, but as of late I am focusing on what I have rather that what I want. Puts my abundance in perspective.

    Best,

  19. Kareem Chandani says:

    I think that we might never be able to answer this question, but as of late I am focusing on what I have rather that what I want. Puts my abundance in perspective.

    Best,

  20. Kamini Khoso says:

    This is a great question, one which we all should ask. I have had enough for years. I live a very blessed life. I know what having nothing is and I also know that nothing is enough because I know who and what I am. Great post!

  21. Jameel Isphani says:

    Every time I’ve thought I’ve “had enough”, life has showed me that I can in fact handle a lot more. LOL
    Interesting question though.

    http://www.DorkyDeb.com

  22. Kashif Iqbal says:

    Right on…
    Nice post and thread.

  23. Moiz Damani says:

    Very Well Said. And I totally agree with the saying “people tend to focus on their wants rather than needs.”

  24. Stella Rangin says:

    Whenever I’ve had enough, I recognized it, but after it was too late. If it wasn’t too late, I didn’t let having enough stop me.

    But I’m giving that statement a very literal definition in regards to food and eating and my own gluttonous behaviour.

    In a more metaphysical sense, who knows? If we’ve had enough, who’s to say enough is enough?

  25. Mustafa Hassan says:

    It’s so easy to jump to conclusions. I’m always doing it, and it’s a very bad habit.

  26. Ali Nawaz says:

    Fear does strange things to me too, miq. And really, it’s fear that generally gets me jumping to ‘negative’ conclusions.

  27. Akber Shah says:

    Now, granted, I don’t do that perfectly–which is why I’m still doing ‘practice, practice, practice!!’.
    But I hear from folks that I’m ‘compassionate’….LOL….so I MUST be making progress–cuz that did NOT use to be one of my character attributes, believe me!

  28. Sameer Khan says:

    I love this post. I liked what you said, and it made me feel like, “what in the hell is wrong with me?” because I always focus on what I’m missing or needing.

  29. Anum Faheem says:

    We gather negative feelings because we are never contended, never satisfied.Once you attain that feeling you’d realize yourself that nothing in this world would harm you. you’d even take the harms as positive.Its just how you look at things.Ashfaq Ahmed in his book ”
    zaviya” mentions a lady who also takes Satan (shitan) as a positive entity. She says he is at least honest in what he is doing.which is so true 🙂

  30. Jhanki says:

    like!

  31. […] Jumping to Negative Conclusions… June 2010 30 comments and 3 Likes on WordPress.com […]

Leave a Reply

