I was channel surfing on the TV last night and came across a wonderful program. Sadly for me there was only about 20 minutes or so remaining in it by the time I did come across it.

I have a tremendous amount of respect and admiration for His Holiness the Dalai Lama. In fact I have never come across anyone that knows anything about him that does not feel the same way. I am not a buddhist but am still inspired virtually every time I hear him speak. I would urge all to google, Dalai Lama 2009 Vancouver conference. I was in awe of the number of dignitaries in attendance all of whom delivered wonderful messages I am sure.

Being memory guy, I can’t remember who said what to allow due credit to be given. These are therefore the thoughts I took away from the program just remember they are far too good to be Miq’s originals.

People are just people, we are the same physically, mentally and emotionally. Our thoughts and beliefs are the only things that separate us. It is those thoughts that have created different cultures; religions…… this list could just go on and on. The point is I am no different from you or anyone else. People are people we are all the same. It is only our thoughts and beliefs that differ. Just because my thinking and beliefs may differ from yours does not make me any better or lesser than you and vica versa. We are all just people.

I think it would be fair to say that as individuals, we all would like to be happy. Feel true inner peace and contentment or at least that is my goal in life. How do we achieve this? Happiness or contentment do not come from the external world, these feelings come from within us. In that regard we are the captains of our own destiny and masters of our own fate. Working within ourselves to become healthier happier people has a duel benefit, as we grow and become healthier and happier we are more and more likely to pass this on to others. Individually we can make the world a better place by working to become stronger, healthier and happier people.

On the show a wonderful comparable was used that made so very much sense to me. I hope as I try to explain my take on it, I can give the message due justice.

This world or ours is a beautiful and wonderful place but it could become even more so as we individually grow. Picture a huge field of flowers. Beautiful flowers of every size shape and color, how beautiful to behold. Now picture that same field of flowers if individual plants are not healthy not blooming to their full potential. It well in fact may still be beautiful but not as it could be. Try in your mind to relate that over to people in the world. What do you think?

Comments
  1. Jessica Krupali says:

    I loved the parable of the flowers in the field. We each owe it to ourselves and each other to live the best way we can. I noticed you were not so good yesterday, your request that we pray for each person for whatever they need. A good way to pray. Every Blessing

  2. Mel Carter says:

    Hello, I love the comparision, I wish I could claim credit for the idea. It was from the show.

  3. Chandra Sen says:

    Oh, I just adore the Dalai Lama. I wish I could throw a dinner party with him as the guest of honor. Thanks for this post. It is so true that happiness and contentment do not come from outside but from within. Even though I know this, I sometimes forget to take care of myself physically and emotionally the way I should. It’s always good to be reminded!

  4. Jamal Panwahar says:

    I’m embarassed to say that I don’t know much about the Dalai Lama–but I’m sure he’s revered for good reason. (which only means I need to do some research and broaden my knowledge)

  5. Kamini Khoso says:

    I like the parable–and of course, I like what you shared.
    Am I letting my light shine? Somedays more than others (I suspect that’s human of me). Am I being all that I AM, all I was created TO be….probably not. And I have a bazillion and one excuses–another human characteristic, I’m sure.

  6. Jameel Isphani says:

    Am I ‘okay’ with being ‘less than’.
    Somedays–I must be, elsewise I wouldn’t settle/compromise.

    Geeze.
    MORE places to grow. :-/
    LOL This isn’t the pain that I make it out to be, yaknow. It’s a matter of choosing.
    But I’m thinking you already knew that.

    (and I do hope today was a brilliant day for your own shining, sir!)

  7. Sameen Shah says:

    you are so right. This journey of life is a matter of choises. Huh, I have to do a post on this.

  8. Hassan Aftab says:

    Back in Action. MIQDAD SIBTAIN

  9. anika says:

    A wonderful post and a lovely comparision 🙂

Leave a Reply

