I was looking through some of my old saved draft posts and came across this one. I think I almost have a bit of a memory of starting but can’t be sure. Anyway, this is what I had written.

I came across a comment the other day that must have been written by someone with a very scientific mindset. It was worded something to the effect:

“Faith/Religion is a crutch leaned on by those that are too weak to face their lives on their own. Science is slowly explaining all and with time and further advancement will be able to explain away all. Belief in an afterlife gives those without the strength to accept the finality of their death merely an element of hope”

OK, that is as far has I had written at that time. Anyone that knows me will know I have my strong beliefs in this regard. I will try to get a post up in the next few days explaining all as I see it.

I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on this.

Comments
  1. Jessica Krupali says:

    I think the author of that comment has faith in science. How else does he know that science will eventually be able to “explain away all?”

  2. Martha Singh says:

    I’m not anti-science by any means, but that doesn’t mean I can’t also have religious or spiritual faith. It’s not a blind faith — I question it often, but I still have it. I take a dim view of zealots on either side who believe that science and religion are mutually exclusive. I would prefer it if everyone would refrain from trying to push their own beliefs on others.

  3. Anum Faheem says:

    Then where would you put miracles?Are they scientific too?When there was no science there was still religion and when there is science everywhere religion still exists.So how can you turn away your face from religion?Secondly i believe faith is that strength that liberates you from all kinds of fear.And last of all God can never ever be unjust to us 🙂 When you are madly in love with Allah then everything else seems insignificant-a mirage, and when this love becomes secondary or tertiary then our worldly wishes become our hunger and then nothing remains.

  4. Hey, ok, I get it, I guess – but does this really work?

  5. anika says:

    I don’t think that there will be a time when science will be able to explain everything..

  6. Great idea, thanks for this post!

  7. Catherine says:

    I haven’t been here in a while, but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t thought about everyone!!
    Gee, …don’t you love Mel’s wisdom?? Somewhere between your posts and Mel’s responses, I find my peace. It’s great to have such friends…
    Praying for you, Wiseman.

  8. Mustafa Hassan says:

    “Faith/Religion is a crutch leaned on by those that are too weak to face their lives on their own. Science is slowly explaining all and with time and further advancement will be able to explain away all. Belief in an afterlife gives those without the strength to accept the finality of their death merely an element of hope”

  9. Sara Parker says:

    The comment is rather arrogant, i.e. “I’m strong and logical and believers are weak, dummies.” For some people, it may be that faith/religion is mostly a crutch. More often it seems to me that trying to live the way Jesus taught us, requires a good deal of strength. It gives comfort and meaning, but also asks a lot from us.

  10. Helen says:

    I’ve heard the same sort of arrogance from some believers who say “Atheists are people who are too weak to live up to a moral code”. That’s just as silly. That may be true of some atheists, but many are fine people with strong ethics who are highly motivated to make the most of this life, because they think that’s all they’ve got.

    Arrogance, from any angle, is usually a sign of weakness in that person.

  11. Jo Hart says:

    I believe in an afterlife, yet, I recognize I could be wrong because I haven’t had the experience of dying. (at least that I remember). The more intellectually honest, and humble, atheists I know, also acknowledge that they may turn out to be wrong as well.

Leave a Reply

