Today is Remembrance Day. It is the one day of the year specifically set aside to honor and remember the Veterans that have served our country over the years. While serving their country, so many, too many have paid the ultimate price of doing so by giving their lives. How many more returned home after suffering with life changing debilitating wounds?? How many lives, how many families paid a terrible price when a husband, son, brother….. answered when their Country called upon them?

I have certainly come to value life. Come to realize how precious, how fleeting and how fragile it can be. Countless people both here via the blog and in emails have shared the stories of their struggles to just say alive while battling medical issues of one type or another. I can personally so relate to that struggle. The illness/disease may be different by the struggle is the same.  The struggle to hang on to this precious life of ours.

With that thought, it just blows my mind, that so many men and women are willing to put their own precious lives on the line, at risk for me. YES, I say for me and that same things applies to any that may read this. I live in Pakistan and am a very proud Pakistani. This is a great place to live and I do have a wonderful life here. I can’t even begin to imagine how much different my life could or would be if over the generations brave men and women had not answered the call of their country. Going off, often too far distant lands to put their lives in harm’s way to help in even some small way to ensure I am able to maintain the wonderful life I have here/we all have here. This doesn’t just apply to Pakistan but to ALL countries. How can I possibly ever hope to thank them for that????

Some will ask, how can fighting a war on the other side of the world possibly help me individually. Now I do realize this answer is overly simplistic and even possibly selfish. Fight on the other side of the world to keep the fighting on the other side of the world and not allow it to get here to directly involve my family. Plus, as a citizen of this world, we just have to at times help out our world neighbors. I have heard the term “unpopular wars.” Now hearing that term, it has to mean some wars are popular, huh. irregardless though that war or peace keeping  or whatever it was our elected politicians, our governments that make the decision as to whether or not we as a country participate and then to what level. Our military did not make that decision, I made that decision, you made that decision by electing the governments we did. Now please give that point some thought.

Our countries call and our brave men and women answer that call.

I don’t really have the words to describe how appreciative I am of the sacrifice made by each and every one of them. To say a mere thank you seems such a trivial way of expressing that appreciation but it is all I have. I thank all veterans; I thank all currently serving and I thank those that will serve in the future.

Taking a few minutes this one day of the year is the least I/We can do.

Comments
  1. Catherine says:

    There are no winners in war, all are losers

  2. Martha Singh says:

    An old worn out statement my father often said. There were times on the trapline with dad, I would catch him weeping. He, as was his usual way would brush it off, “Thinking of the war” was his usual refrain. Other times, after some prodding… He would share a glimpse… I would sit, first with fascination, then revulsion and horror. His memories, “nightmares’ he called them were of the civilian populations. (the children)

  3. Mel Carter says:

    thank you for leaving this touching and meaningful post.

  4. Mel Carter says:

    ((((((((((( Miq )))))))))))))
    Thankyou. Appreciate

  5. Jamal Panwahar says:

    ((((((((((( Miq )))))))))))))

    I just need to sit in what Mel shared and what the video spoke to.

    But thank you.
    I just cannot imagine ever being able to live with the pain of it all.

  6. Salman Ateeq says:

    Beautifully said, Miqdad.

  7. Sabika Khan says:

    That’s really good of you to remember the veterans , they have/had put their lives on stake just for us . I also think that a mere thankyou is very trivial way to express our gratitude to them . Writing a post for them is the least we can do and you’ve done it sir .

  8. Jessica Krupali says:

    What a wonderful post!

  9. Jameel Isphani says:

    In the end, taking time from our constant “me..me..me” thoughts and sending them out to those people who have laid down their lives, limbs, and blood for their country-folk is but appropriate.

  10. Sameen Shah says:

    But, as stated above, it’s not nearly enough, I believe! Take care and keep on writing, Bill. You are a blogger I’ve grown to love.

  11. anika says:

    I agree with what you say.. a wonderful post

Leave a Reply

