Yesterday I started to write my thoughts on the Serenity Prayer. What it means to me. This prayer is important to me as I do try to use it in my daily life. If you really think about it, it contains such a wonderful message, is a wonderful prayer.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change. The courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.”

Yesterday, I wrote about the first sentence. Accepting what you cannot change. When we get right down to it, there is very little if anything in this world we can really change, except ourselves. The prayer is like a call to action, to bring about change within myself one way or the other.

Internal serenity, being completely at peace with the world, is something I strive for, I pray for. I am sure it is something all would want. How do we achieve it? For me, stress is the worst enemy of my internal serenity. I have a bad heart and with that comes the knowing that stress can and will kill me. Guess what, it will do the same to you. It is just a matter of time or timing. This whole dying business has brought about a huge change in me. I am much more accepting than I was in the past. Things that would have had me all fired up now about 90% if time doesn’t even register on my internal radar. Most things just aren’t worth the bother of paying any attention to. I have come to realize most things in our daily lives just aren’t that important. If something is important to me, I am not that complacent and I think that is how it should be.

The second sentence contains, “change the things you can”. This is where we have to take a hard, honest look at our lives. Serenity is my goal has stress be gone from my life. I need to work on myself. I need to work on myself to learn why I still allow certain issues to push my buttons, so to speak. Sometimes the answer will be that the circumstance or whatever it I am dealing with is just plain unacceptable and not within my tolerance zone. What am I to do then?

This for me is the difficult part. Having the “wisdom to know the difference part”. If I have done an honest internal review and have found there are some external factors in my life that are just not acceptable, stress causing. It is time to make external changes in the world around me. We all have people, events in our lives that cause us stress. We see them there, we feel the stress. Do we have the “courage to change the things we can’? Internally and externally?

Comments
  1. Mel Carter says:

    Boy you’re on a roll! LOL And I love it–mostly cuz it means I get to read what you share, decide what fits for me and take a look at how/what I need to do with it.
    NOT that I always like taking a look at ME. I just know that which I can change is ME. That which I cannot–is everything else.
    And I mean EVERY thing else.

  2. Sabika Khan says:

    Yeahyeahyeah……I heard everything I just put out here in black and white!
    Pffffffffffttttttt!!!!!!

  3. Martha Singh says:

    I can change ME.
    I don’t have to grow weary trying to change others–frankly, I don’t have the energy TO go that direction for very long. (good clue for me–when I start feeling that weary….guess where the energy’s going!!!)

    And frankly–(I’m betting you could guess this one!)it’s a FULL TIME JOB keeping me on track and on the path I’ve chosen to walk.

  4. Salman Ateeq says:

    I’m with you Miq, the spirit is willing, the flesh is weak. I need to avoid that, that will pull me down as I grow.

  5. Jamal Panwahar says:

    There’s something about sharing the change with another person and letting them support you that works for some of us.

  6. Sameen Shah says:

    I hear ya, sir.
    Ain’t easy–but it is worth it!

    Just sayin’….
    And until I got strong enough to actually go into places and NOT buy the donut–I didn’t GO in those places unless I had a buddy with me who’d smack me on the back of the head and grumble the reminder.

  7. There are definitely plenty of details like that to take into consideration. That may be a nice point to bring up. I provide the ideas above as basic inspiration but clearly there are questions just like the one you bring up the place a very powerful factor might be working in sincere good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged around issues like that, however I am certain that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Each boys and girls really feel the affect of only a second’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  8. There are actually lots of details like that to take into consideration. That could be a great level to carry up. I provide the thoughts above as common inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you convey up the place a very powerful factor might be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged around issues like that, however I am certain that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Both girls and boys feel the impression of just a second’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  9. I am truly not too good with this issue but I do like to inspect blogs for design thoughts and interesting themes. You really thrived upon a subject that I usually don’t deal lots about and made it really entertaining. This is a nice blog that I will take note of. I already earmarked it for future mention. Thx

  10. I can’t wait to get my hands on this amazing game. I can tell I’ll be getting no rest until I defeat the game!!

  11. Hi, the website took quite a long time to load but it was certainly worth it

  12. Mi Runkel says:

    After examine a number of of the weblog posts in your website now, and I really like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and might be checking again soon. Pls try my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  13. Great article. There’s a lot of good data here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Ubuntu with the up-to-date beta of Firefox, and the look and feel of your blog is kind of bizarre for me. I can understand the articles, but the navigation doesn’t function so well.

  14. Resguider says:

    continue with the the good work on the blog. I like it. Could use some more frequent updates, but i’m quite sure that you have got other things things to do like we all do. =p

  15. Resorna says:

    i’ve checked this blog a few times now and i have to say that i find it quite good actually. keep it up! 🙂

  16. dfehgiuoe says:

    Great site here. Some like yours cover subjects that cant be found in print. I dont understand how we’ve got on 15 years ago with just magazines and newspapers.

  17. keep up the good work on the blog. I love it. Could use some more frequent updates, but i am quite sure you got better or other things to do like we all do. =)

  18. continue with the the great work on the blog. I like it. Could use some more frequent updates, but i am sure that you got other things stuff to do like we all have to do unfortunately. 🙂

  19. I’d be inclined to pass on with you one this subject. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  20. callofduty says:

    actually appreciated the post you posted actually. it just isn’t that simple to find even remotely good posts to read (you know really READ and not just going through it like some uniterested and flesh eating zombie before going somewhere else), so cheers mate for really not wasting any of my time! 😉

  21. reseguider says:

    keep up the great work on the blog. I appreciate it. Could maybe use some more updates more often, but i am quite sure that you got some other things stuff to do like we all have to do unfortunately. =)

  22. resor says:

    i have checked this cool site a few times now and i have to say that i find it quite good actually. continue doing what you’re doing! =p

Leave a Reply

